Gap-fill exercise

Fill in the blanks with one of the following :
African National Congress - ANC - Apartheid - banning - Bantustans - Empire - Homelands - Independence - townships - Union - vote
1909: of the Cape Province, Orange Free State, Natal and South Transvaal.
South Africa became a self-governing dominion within the British .
1912: The () was formed to oppose racial oppression.
1931: and rapid economic development (gold, minerals).
1948: Application of ("separate development of races"):
- Group Areas Act (segregation of living areas, "" for Blacks),
- Immorality Act ( of inter-racial sexual relations),
- Restriction of civil and political rights (no for Blacks),
- Creation of "B" or "H" (countries were Blacks were forced to live).